Sikandra bypoll: BJP retains seat, wins by 7000 votes


The Adityanath Yogi headed Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) continued his good show in Uttar Pradesh, as he comfortably won the Sikandra group on Sunday.

BJP won the Sikandra Assembly by defeating the Samajwadi Party of Akhilesh Yadav by 7,000 votes.

The bypoll took place after the seat became vacant while the seated player, BJP MLA, Mathura Prasad Pal passed away on July 22. Then, the BJP nominated Pal’s son, Ajit Pal Singh, against Seema Sachan of the Samajwadi party and the ‘Prabhakar Congress.

Around 12 candidates were in a brawl, including five independents in the constituency of Sikandra, which is in the district of Kanpur Dehat. About 53% of the total electorate of 3.21 lakh had cast their votes in the elections.

The district of Kanpur Dehat is mainly known for the revenge of the bandit queen Phoolan Devi after his rape in the Behmai massacre in 1981, where she and her gang murdered 21 raptors of the upper caste.